Get your brain cells working…even when they hurt

Posted: December 5, 2011 in Brain Cells
Tags: , , , ,

Staying creative and productive can be a difficult task if you aren’t focus or having a “block” of some sort…ya know that moment in which you just wanna bang your head against a brick wall like a whacky Looney Tune. Especially if it’s a project whether it be for your own individual goal or for a group of people they are relying on your input and work.

You either have two options. One is to get it done as perfectly as possible in a timely manner. The other option…..is to get that shit done. Period.

Personally when I am experiencing a block I tend to just step back from it and take a breather because sometimes you have relax, calm down and step back in order to move forward again. Sometimes that might not work therefore I must do the opposite in which I have to pump myself up with some adrenaline rushing music to get me going and practically force myself to get the job done….no I am NOT listening to the Mortal Kombat theme music although it is a pretty bad ass song. I think that if I just wait for my “juices” to start kicking in, then things would either never get done or take forever. For example.

Instructor: Ok folks Monday I need for you to bring in some thumbnails for your next project. The minimum is 100-200 and that’s if you want a C.

Me: …..Well I’ll be damned. That’s the minimum just for a freakin C?

Instructor: Keep drawing thumbnails and flushing out any and all ideas even if they are bad then eventually you will be forced to critically come up with some new ideas and concepts.

I’m pretty sure I managed to get more than 200 because I had no choice I wanted something higher than a C but at the time it wasn’t that easy seeing as how I was just a sophomore in an intro to graphic design class but it was either me hurry and come up with a few ideas and get a lower grade or flush out many ideas and refine during the second draft.

Here is a video I found on how to stay creative and help get those brain juices flowing again for when you are feeling like your brain is stuck in traffic on the 405 freeway and if you don’t know what that feels like then consider yourself lucky.

Read this awesome post here on some interesting ways to educate yourself. These tips can help with your overall creative and thinking ability….like when we were kids playing with our toys or imaginary friends. Oh like you never spoke to one of your teddy bears like it was a living being.

Remember ladies and gentlemen that drugs can only go so far and it is at your own risk, I mean hey that could be your source of inspiration whatever works for you I guess. That’s not my type of thing because D.A.R.E. came to my class when I was young so I learned to save a few bucks and my health by staying drug free. In the words of the late Steve Jobs about Bill Gates, “I wish him the best, I really do. I just think he and Microsoft are a bit narrow. He’d be a broader guy if he had dropped acid once or gone off to an ashram when he was younger.”

Now that’s funny.

I think the best thing to do is remain calm and not be too stressed out. I know so many people who are always complaining about stress but guess what, I’m not letting stress get to the best of me. You might be thinking “But Harrison you don’t know what it’s like for X,Y and Z.” I’m no fool I know that everyone’s situation is different but shorting your life span over too much stress is ridiculous. So I hope that some of the above tips will be of help to not only getting your brain cells working but allowing you to be a little less stressful in the process. Why? Because stress kills and I’m not cool with that shit so here’s a nice little tune for those who are in disbelief and allow it.

Just for the record I did attempt to draw some silly drawings that were inspired by this blog. I attempted to draw funny looking brains although I think they turned out looking more like Meatwad from Aqua Team Hunger Force.

Now how cool is that?

Leave a Reply

